Forum Jump: 
 287Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 559 Old 01-09-2019, 11:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 32
It is going on two weeks and I am yet to receive my "key" from CalMan. I assume that following the winter break, the CalMan staff was deployed to the CES as no one in sales is around to answer the phone. Fair enough. As I wait, I have a couple of question which perhaps some kind CalMan user with far greater technical knowledge that I possess can help me answer.
1). I've read that the z9f is "CalMan ready." What does this mean?
2). I've downloaded the program for the Home Enthusiast AutoCal. Does the AutoCal mean that I do not need to purchase a separate meter but that the meter so-to-speak is built into the program itself?

I've got a bunch more questions but I will not press my luck beyond these two questions. I've looked at some of the CalMan tutorials and cannot discern from them answers to the two questions I've asked above.

Thank you.
abrgwjj is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 559 Old 01-10-2019, 02:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 6,613
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4685 Post(s)
Liked: 3339
Quote:
Originally Posted by abrgwjj View Post
It is going on two weeks and I am yet to receive my "key" from CalMan. I assume that following the winter break, the CalMan staff was deployed to the CES as no one in sales is around to answer the phone. Fair enough. As I wait, I have a couple of question which perhaps some kind CalMan user with far greater technical knowledge that I possess can help me answer.

1). I've read that the z9f is "CalMan ready." What does this mean?

2). I've downloaded the program for the Home Enthusiast AutoCal. Does the AutoCal mean that I do not need to purchase a separate meter but that the meter so-to-speak is built into the program itself?



I've got a bunch more questions but I will not press my luck beyond these two questions. I've looked at some of the CalMan tutorials and cannot discern from them answers to the two questions I've asked above.



Thank you.
1, This means there is a Calman app you use in the TV that directly communicates with Calman for AutoCal.

2, No it means that with that enthusiast license you can use the AutoCal function. You need a meter such as the i1display pro or c6hdr both available in Calman website.

Don't forget you also need a PC with an Intel/GeForce video card in it or you'll need to purchase a separate compatible pattern generator. Another option is to get an Amazon FireTV and use Calman mobleforge to generate the patterns.
@WiFi-Spy can you help get his license?

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #543 of 559 Old 01-10-2019, 08:58 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 19,396
Mentioned: 322 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10226 Post(s)
Liked: 5907
Quote:
Originally Posted by abrgwjj View Post

I've got a bunch more questions but I will not press my luck beyond these two questions. I've looked at some of the CalMan tutorials and cannot discern from them answers to the two questions I've asked above.

Thank you.
Did you look at these specific tutorials?

http://spectracal.com//Documents/QSG...ence Guide.pdf

http://sonyglobal.akamaized.net/is/c...AN-updated.pdf


They should provide the information you are looking for.
shoman94 likes this.
AustinJerry is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #544 of 559 Old 01-10-2019, 12:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,327
Mentioned: 167 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1043 Post(s)
Liked: 1659
Quote:
Originally Posted by abrgwjj View Post
It is going on two weeks and I am yet to receive my "key" from CalMan. I assume that following the winter break, the CalMan staff was deployed to the CES as no one in sales is around to answer the phone. Fair enough. As I wait, I have a couple of question which perhaps some kind CalMan user with far greater technical knowledge that I possess can help me answer.

1). I've read that the z9f is "CalMan ready." What does this mean?

2). I've downloaded the program for the Home Enthusiast AutoCal. Does the AutoCal mean that I do not need to purchase a separate meter but that the meter so-to-speak is built into the program itself?



I've got a bunch more questions but I will not press my luck beyond these two questions. I've looked at some of the CalMan tutorials and cannot discern from them answers to the two questions I've asked above.



Thank you.


We looked through all our orders and don’t see any orders from you. Can you confirm that you purchased a license key?
shoman94 and jrref like this.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Evangelist - for CalMAN

10 Bit Gradient Test Patterns (HEVC) - Free Download
WiFi-Spy is online now  
post #545 of 559 Old 01-10-2019, 10:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Tyler, I received this message from CalMan after downloading the software. It said that a key was forthcoming. I expected at the time that I would be told how much it would cost and an entry for my credit card.

Thank You for Downloading CalMAN Home Enthusiast

CalMAN Home Enthusiast is for home theater enthusiasts who want to calibrate their own TVs or projectors. With the added ability to create 3D LUTs for video processors and calibrate computer monitors, as well as manually calibrate a TV, it is the complete tool for a DIY calibration.

You will receive an email from our team shortly, which includes all the info to activate your CalMAN Home Enthusiast software. A valid license key is needed to use CalMAN Home Enthusiast. If you would like to purchase CalMAN Home Enthusiast, or any of our other display calibration solutions, please click on the button below.

Last edited by abrgwjj; 01-11-2019 at 12:07 AM.
abrgwjj is online now  
post #546 of 559 Old 01-11-2019, 02:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 6,613
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4685 Post(s)
Liked: 3339
Quote:
Originally Posted by abrgwjj View Post
Tyler, I received this message from CalMan after downloading the software. It said that a key was forthcoming. I expected at the time that I would be told how much it would cost and an entry for my credit card.



Thank You for Downloading CalMAN Home Enthusiast



CalMAN Home Enthusiast is for home theater enthusiasts who want to calibrate their own TVs or projectors. With the added ability to create 3D LUTs for video processors and calibrate computer monitors, as well as manually calibrate a TV, it is the complete tool for a DIY calibration.



You will receive an email from our team shortly, which includes all the info to activate your CalMAN Home Enthusiast software. A valid license key is needed to use CalMAN Home Enthusiast. If you would like to purchase CalMAN Home Enthusiast, or any of our other display calibration solutions, please click on the button below.
That was just for downloading I believe. You need to click the link, below it says if you want to purchase home enthusiast please click below to purchase the software.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
Rolls-Royce likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+

Last edited by shoman94; 01-11-2019 at 04:37 PM.
shoman94 is online now  
post #547 of 559 Old 01-11-2019, 07:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,631
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 853 Post(s)
Liked: 981
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
That was just for downloading I believe. You need to click below it says if you want to purchase home enthusiast please click below to purchase the software.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
I agree. It appears the OP did step A (free download) but not step B, which is to actually make the purchase.
shoman94 likes this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931

Last edited by Rolls-Royce; 01-11-2019 at 11:49 AM.
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #548 of 559 Old 01-11-2019, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,631
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 853 Post(s)
Liked: 981
Quote:
Originally Posted by abrgwjj View Post
Tyler, I received this message from CalMan after downloading the software. It said that a key was forthcoming. I expected at the time that I would be told how much it would cost and an entry for my credit card.

Thank You for Downloading CalMAN Home Enthusiast

CalMAN Home Enthusiast is for home theater enthusiasts who want to calibrate their own TVs or projectors. With the added ability to create 3D LUTs for video processors and calibrate computer monitors, as well as manually calibrate a TV, it is the complete tool for a DIY calibration.

You will receive an email from our team shortly, which includes all the info to activate your CalMAN Home Enthusiast software. A valid license key is needed to use CalMAN Home Enthusiast. If you would like to purchase CalMAN Home Enthusiast, or any of our other display calibration solutions, please click on the button below.
Unfortunately, that's a generic message sent whenever someone gets the software from the downloads page, even those of us who already own it. You can install what you have which will run in Demo mode only, meaning no actual measurements can be made. You have to initiate the additional separate step of purchasing a key.
shoman94 likes this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #549 of 559 Old 01-11-2019, 09:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I am not anxious to stir a debate. I just want to get my CalMan. My patience was thinning as I waited for a hell-of-a-long time to receive my z9f. Now its thinning even more as I wait to get my CalMan. I clearly misunderstood the web site and the message I received from the company--although CalMan needs to work on making the wording on its web site and its follow-up messages more intelligible to laymen and persons of the meanest intellect (which includes me when it comes to technical matters). I thank everyone for their comments and advice in this matter. Now, off to buy my CalMan.
abrgwjj is online now  
post #550 of 559 Old 01-11-2019, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,631
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 853 Post(s)
Liked: 981
Quote:
Originally Posted by abrgwjj View Post
I am not anxious to stir a debate. I just want to get my CalMan. My patience was thinning as I waited for a hell-of-a-long time to receive my z9f. Now its thinning even more as I wait to get my CalMan. I clearly misunderstood the web site and the message I received from the company--although CalMan needs to work on making the wording on its web site and its follow-up messages more intelligible to laymen and persons of the meanest intellect (which includes me when it comes to technical matters). I thank everyone for their comments and advice in this matter. Now, off to buy my CalMan.
Understood, and good luck.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #551 of 559 Old 01-11-2019, 06:26 PM
Member
 
camacho8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post
Snip
Would you recommend Ictp 720 for the Sony A1E auto cal,like you suggested for the Z9F or the default JNd..Thanks

65 Sony A1E-Oled - Calman Home Ent/C6 HDR2000
Denon - 7200WA - Mirage Speakers
Roku Ultra/Sony UBP-800X/4K Firestick
camacho8 is online now  
post #552 of 559 Old 01-12-2019, 03:56 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 424
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemoon737 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Looking good.... Hey when you do screenshots press Alt then Print See. This way it doesn't take a screenshot of both screens.

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
For some reason alt + print sceen doesn't work
Shouldn’t it be shift+print? Anyway, the snipping tool is much better cause you can also cut the useless part of the screenshot.

Audio/Video Chain: Pioneer PDP-LX5090H, Pioneer VSX-921, Panasonic DMP-BDT260EG, Wharfedale Diamond 10.4 | External LUT box: Entertainment Experience eeColor
Calibration softwares: Light Illusion Lightspace CMS HTP, Portrait Displays/Spectracal CalMAN Home Enthusiast 2018, HCFR, DisplayCAL/ArgyllCMS
Probes: x-rite i1 Pro 2, basICColor DISCUS | Test Pattern Generator: DVDO AVLab TPG
Anger.miki is offline  
post #553 of 559 Old 01-12-2019, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 6,613
Mentioned: 192 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4685 Post(s)
Liked: 3339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anger.miki View Post
Shouldn’t it be shift+print? Anyway, the snipping tool is much better cause you can also cut the useless part of the screenshot.
I use Microsoft OneDrive for all my calibration stuff. It's quick while I'm calibrating I take a screenshot and it's automatically saved as a file instantly. No need to use any editing software like paint. Alt-print does the active window.
Sure I could use all kinds of other methods but it's more time consuming. If I want to clip anything after it's easy enough to use the snipping tool sure......

Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
My P75-C1 Calibration Settings (5.0.14.1).
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio P75-C1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Pioneer VSX-1131, XBox One(X), Wii, NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #554 of 559 Old 01-13-2019, 04:06 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 19,396
Mentioned: 322 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10226 Post(s)
Liked: 5907
On my Oppo 203, under the HDR Settings Menu, I can set the HDR target output level for a number of different settings from 50 nits to 1600 nits. It is currently set to 300 nits. What setting should be used for the Z9F, or does it make any difference?
AustinJerry is online now  
post #555 of 559 Old 01-13-2019, 05:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluemoon737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 3,572
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2112 Post(s)
Liked: 2601
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
On my Oppo 203, under the HDR Settings Menu, I can set the HDR target output level for a number of different settings from 50 nits to 1600 nits. It is currently set to 300 nits. What setting should be used for the Z9F, or does it make any difference?
For any fully HDR capable display you shouldn't touch it. That value only comes into play when using the OPPO tone mapping (with doesn't work). Just leave the OPPO in AUTO everything for a fully HDR capable display. If you have questions, suggest the OPPO thread.
AustinJerry likes this.

Sony XBR75Z9D
Marantz SR8012
OPPO UDP-203
bluemoon737 is online now  
post #556 of 559 Old 01-13-2019, 06:05 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 19,396
Mentioned: 322 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10226 Post(s)
Liked: 5907
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemoon737 View Post
For any fully HDR capable display you shouldn't touch it. That value only comes into play when using the OPPO tone mapping (with doesn't work). Just leave the OPPO in AUTO everything for a fully HDR capable display. If you have questions, suggest the OPPO thread.
I have HDR set to Auto, but the Target Output Level has no Auto setting. So you are saying it doesn’t matter?
AustinJerry is online now  
post #557 of 559 Old 01-13-2019, 06:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bluemoon737's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 3,572
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2112 Post(s)
Liked: 2601
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I have HDR set to Auto, but the Target Output Level has no Auto setting. So you are saying it doesn’t matter?
That is correct, doesn't matter if you have HDR set to On or AUTO. I was just about to edit my previous response to say nevermind, I see you got your answer in the OPPO thread. Best advice is to follow any guidance given by Bill or Bob when it comes to the 203.
AustinJerry likes this.

Sony XBR75Z9D
Marantz SR8012
OPPO UDP-203
bluemoon737 is online now  
post #558 of 559 Old 01-17-2019, 05:20 PM
Newbie
 
kkngan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi forum members,

Happy New Year to all of you! I'll be receiving my 75Z9F tomorrow and am excited about it. I tried searching in both the official Z9F forum thread and this thread to see if anyone posted their settings post calibration that I can try on my set tomorrow, but don't really see one except a much older posting by Thomas.

Would anyone be so kind as to share your latest settings please that I can use on my set? Will greatly appreciate it. Thank you!
kkngan is offline  
post #559 of 559 Old 01-17-2019, 05:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 4,571
Mentioned: 139 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3707 Post(s)
Liked: 4420
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkngan View Post
Hi forum members,

Happy New Year to all of you! I'll be receiving my 75Z9F tomorrow and am excited about it. I tried searching in both the official Z9F forum thread and this thread to see if anyone posted their settings post calibration that I can try on my set tomorrow, but don't really see one except a much older posting by Thomas.

Would anyone be so kind as to share your latest settings please that I can use on my set? Will greatly appreciate it. Thank you!
Why do you think you need to start changing settings on a new TV? Your not seeing a lot of postings because there isn't much to do. Just use Custom or Cinema and adjust the brightness and motion, if necessary, to your liking and read what Thomas posted. .

John
Sony 55A1E, A9F / LG 55OLEDC8
Marantz 7012, Ohm Walsh Speakers
Klein K10-A, Jeti 1501, Murideo Six-G
Calman Ultimate, ISF Level III Certified
jrref is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off