• 1 Post By brandon_k_w
  • 1 Post By ConnecTEDDD

post #1 of 13 Old 12-31-2018, 05:01 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 15
What is the best way to calibrate an HTPC + projector with the X-Rite i1 Display Pro?

I'm way over my head. I attempted to calibrate my projector (as can be seen in my sig, it's a Chinese XGIMI Lune on a PET Crystal screen) using D65 as my white point, and Gamma set on 2.20 as seen in this video (my version of the i1Profiler is a newer build):

This HTPC is used primarily for movies (but also for web browsing), and the resulting .icm seems extremely warm. I attempted to use a D75 white point for a cooler picture, but the resulting image still seems too warm, and perhaps relatively...greenish? maybe? I feel like I'm maybe doing something wrong here, and any help would be most appreciated. I'm a complete novice at calibration (only previous experience was using the Disney WOW disk, and fumbling my way through the AVS HD 709 tools). I was hoping that getting the X-Rite would be a decent shortcut as an alternative to hiring a professional calibrator (which is likely impossible in my neck of the woods, and he'd have to fumble through Chinese menus).

If anyone can point me to a guide, or the correct method of calibration in something like "Explain it to me like I'm 5" steps, it's be MUCH appreciated.

Source: Windows 10 Pro, i5-4690K CPU @ 3.50GHz, 16 GB RAM, GTX 1070
Receiver: Onkyo TX-NR676 in a 5.1.2 audio configuration
Video Output: XGIMI Lune (XJ01V), XYScreen Pet Crystal screen
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 01-01-2019, 11:59 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 23