Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 11-14-2018, 09:22 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help with videoing Sports (football)

Hi All,

I am an enthusiast photographer who doesn't know much about video. My son plays high school football. I have been taking pictures all year, but want some video to use to make a year end video for the team that will include video and the pics I have taken. I just ordered and received a Sony AX53. I would love any tips people have for recording football, or sports in general. The remaining games will be night games under the lights, so that is a big difference from daylight.

Best mode for night football – I have done some reading. I guess generally for sports, I would want to be in 60fps mode? This would mean manually setting the SS to 1/120, and letting the Auto take over for the rest, right?

When in full Auto, I am guessing that the cam is smart enough to try it’s best to keep the SS at 2x the fps rate?

4K – I know nothing about video editing. The only software I have is Adobe Premiere ELEMENTS. My desktop computer is not the most robust. My daughter is actually decent with video editing, having used Sony Vegas years ago. She no longer has access to it though, and has never worked with 4K. Given all this, I would think that for this football footage, I should probably stick to 1080p, given all that I have said?

Still shots – I saw a video where someone posted some pretty good stills from their AX53. If I’m using the camera as mostly a video camera, but want a still now and then, what is the best way to do that? Do I have to flip the camera to stills mode? Can I capture a still while recording?
Thanks for any tips anyone can provide.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 11-18-2018, 02:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member

Quoted: 373 Post(s)
Liked: 128