Forum Jump: 
 1470Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2971 of 2980 Old 01-05-2019, 01:46 PM
pep
Senior Member
 
pep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 92
ARC problem

Is anyone using ARC for sound out? Has anyone tried it? Any issues? I can't seem to make it work.
pep is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2972 of 2980 Old 01-05-2019, 06:24 PM
Member
 
TimDugan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Back to US Firmware

After using the Chinese firmware for a time, I've gone back to US firmware for the new year. The only advantage of the Chinese firmware is Dolby Vision over HDMI. But my main source of DV material is Netflix via AppleTV 4K, and the DV picture is just too dark. Watching in HDR is much better, and the US firmware does that. Maybe a future update will fix the darkness issue, but for now I'm very happy with US firmware.

Still a great TV.
TimDugan is offline  
post #2973 of 2980 Old 01-06-2019, 07:16 AM
Senior Member
 
bennutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimDugan View Post
After using the Chinese firmware for a time, I've gone back to US firmware for the new year. The only advantage of the Chinese firmware is Dolby Vision over HDMI. But my main source of DV material is Netflix via AppleTV 4K, and the DV picture is just too dark. Watching in HDR is much better, and the US firmware does that. Maybe a future update will fix the darkness issue, but for now I'm very happy with US firmware.



Still a great TV.


Not sure what is different about the sets, but I don’t find DV too dark at all, in fact I set things to force DV if given the option. Keeps color consistent.
I was frustrated with HDR color being off last year (pastel pinkish reds for example)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bennutt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2974 of 2980 Old 01-06-2019, 10:35 AM
Member
 
TimDugan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennutt View Post
Not sure what is different about the sets, but I don’t find DV too dark at all, in fact I set things to force DV if given the option. Keeps color consistent.
Might just be my old eyes! AppleTV 4K playing Marvel's Iron Fist, Season 2, Episode 1 is my comparative benchmark. Opening scenes are dark to start with, but I much prefer it in HDR over DV. DV does look great playing sample files I have and I don't have any other DV source to compare with.
TimDugan is offline  
post #2975 of 2980 Old 01-06-2019, 11:48 AM
Senior Member
 
bennutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimDugan View Post
Might just be my old eyes! AppleTV 4K playing Marvel's Iron Fist, Season 2, Episode 1 is my comparative benchmark. Opening scenes are dark to start with, but I much prefer it in HDR over DV. DV does look great playing sample files I have and I don't have any other DV source to compare with.


Netflix Marvel has always had weird grainy looks to it. (Any of them)
I’d suggest Stranger Things as a good Netflix compare, but it sounds like you went to US firmware anyway.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bennutt is offline  
post #2976 of 2980 Old 01-07-2019, 07:52 PM
Newbie
 
Joe Davola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by pep View Post
Is anyone using ARC for sound out? Has anyone tried it? Any issues? I can't seem to make it work.
I use it all the time for HULU and Netflix. Works fine for me without any issues. I perfer those apps thru the TV instead of my TiVo Bolt box.

I've used it with an Onkyo receiver and now the Sony STR N1080.

I believe it has to be on HDMI 1 for ARC.

HTH

TIA

Homer
Joe Davola is offline  
post #2977 of 2980 Old 01-07-2019, 09:23 PM
pep
Senior Member
 
pep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Davola View Post
I use it all the time for HULU and Netflix. Works fine for me without any issues. I perfer those apps thru the TV instead of my TiVo Bolt box.

I've used it with an Onkyo receiver and now the Sony STR N1080.

I believe it has to be on HDMI 1 for ARC.

HTH

TIA

Homer
So I have my Vizio soundbar on HDMI1. But when I select HDMI2 or HDMI 3 it doesn't play through the soundbar. Are you saying you are able to do this? Which firmware are you on?
pep is offline  
post #2978 of 2980 Old 01-08-2019, 11:33 PM
Newbie
 
Joe Davola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by pep View Post
So I have my Vizio soundbar on HDMI1. But when I select HDMI2 or HDMI 3 it doesn't play through the soundbar. Are you saying you are able to do this? Which firmware are you on?
Yes, I am able to play the TV audio through my receiver as I am connected to my receiver to via HDMI 1. The receiver is always connected to the TV thru HDMI 1, I don't have any other inputs to the TV nor do I ever change the cable connecting to HDMI 1.

For example, I'll use the Netflex app on the TV, select TV as the input on my Sony STR DN1080 receiver for full audio.

As I mentioned earlier, I prefer this method over using the Netflix app on my TiVo Bolt or Sony blu-ray player. ARC works on all TV apps that I've tried so far, Netflix, HULU, YouTube, etc.

HTH

TIA

Homer
Joe Davola is offline  
post #2979 of 2980 Old 01-16-2019, 04:15 PM
Member
 
norcimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hi . What I the latest firmware the US? Thanks!
norcimo is offline  
post #2980 of 2980 Old 01-21-2019, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
sdchrgrboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: san diego
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Van Boven View Post
And that would be within VISA right, but at this point they would not be able to replace it (they cannot purchase it) and no one can get parts. So far the ones who used Discover have not had a problem.
I decided to submit a claim on the TV due to no that that there's no Dolby Vision as promised (unless you go Chinese FW. Also, randomly the TV will power off on its own. Might happen once a week, or less not sure why. I bought the TV on Amazon last November when there were still a bunch available, so I called Discover the week before the anniversary. They put in the claim, but did mention that it might have to go thru Amazon. I just received a letter from Discover saying they decided in my favor and issued a full refund. I did have square trade as well but think that because it was still under factory, they approved the claim.
sdchrgrboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
dolbyvision , hdr10 , leeco , uhd , umax85



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off