• 1 Post By kngelv

post #1 of 15 Old 01-11-2019, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question Noobie here! help with my design

Hey Guys!
So I am a relative noob to the AV world, in the past, my home theater setup was whatever vizio TV was on sale, add a sound bar and walk away. However, we are building the house of our dreams and I want to do a theater room that my family and I can enjoy. More importantly I want to do it right.

Attached is a rough layout of the of where the Audio equipment will be pre-wired in the ceiling (and wall for the sub) I want to put a 120" (diag) screen on the front wall. and I want to put a built in AV equipment rack in the wall as well however I have some questions.

First off, is 120" the right size screen for the room? I plan on doing 2 rows of theater seating, the closest row being roughly 14ft away.

secondly, I really want to have a built in to the wall AV rack but my initial searches have turned up not alot. is this possible? has anyone done this?

thirdly, what about sound mitigation. this room is in the basement and unfortunately is right below the kids room. I dont have any notion that I will be able to stop the noise completely but any (post-construction) ceiling mitigation you could recommend would be great!

lastly, lets talk hardware. what 5.1 setup does everyone recommend? what about projector? this is not a "budget build" but I also am not looking to break the bank here. What are some good quality durable components that people have used?

Thanks all! looking forward to the next several months of stressing about making this room perfect.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	basic layout.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	50.4 KB
ID:	2509328  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 01-11-2019, 02:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 138