Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By Ratman
  • 2 Post By Ratman
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 11-18-2018, 03:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
alan0354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1019 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Question of the HDMI connector on the tv.

I have been reading about HDMI, sounds to me that if the tv has a HDMI connector, and the tv receives the signal from an antenna, I can hook up a HDMI to stereo RCA L and R converter and plug into an integrated amp to play the sound on the stereo system.

I just want to verify this.

Thanks

Own designed power amp, own designed preamp, JM LAB Spectral 913.1 speakers, Rythmik F12SE sub.
Not hooked up: Nakamichi Stasis PA-7 power amp, Velodyne VA1210 sub, Kef Reference Series center, Kef Bookshelf speaker, Monitor Audio bookshelf speaker, Infinity rear speakers. Acurus 3X200W amp.
alan0354 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 11-18-2018, 04:43 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 18,369
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1870 Post(s)
Liked: 1650
Perhaps if the TV's and the converter HDMI interfaces support ARC (Audio Return Channel … not Audio Research Corp), which is unlikely.
Or, if the TV has an HDMI "output", which is also unlikely.
The TV probably has an optical audio output. Add a DAC (optical to analog converter).


Similar to this:


http://www.walmart.com/ip/ESYNIC-To...SABEgIrJvD_BwE



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein

Last edited by Ratman; 11-18-2018 at 05:12 AM.
Ratman is online now  
post #3 of 17 Old 11-18-2018, 07:22 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,197
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1919 Post(s)
Liked: 3625
It would help to know the make and model of the television. If stereo audio is the goal (you mentioned L-R RCA connectors), the TV is bound to either have RCA audio output jacks or a headphone port for which adapters are readily available and inexpensive. If you're looking to connect it to a full 5.1 surround system, then @Ratman 's ideas, above, will work. Again.. depending on the set.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 Old 11-18-2018, 07:40 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 18,369
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1870 Post(s)
Liked: 1650
Quote:
Originally Posted by alan0354 View Post
I have been reading about HDMI, sounds to me that if the tv has a HDMI connector, and the tv receives the signal from an antenna, I can hook up a HDMI to stereo RCA L and R converter and plug into an integrated amp to play the sound on the stereo system.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
If you're looking to connect it to a full 5.1 surround system, then @Ratman's ideas, above, will work. Again.. depending on the set.
Since was OP was looking for "stereo" only, it will work. DD5.1 is not possible using an Optical to Analog converter (RCA R/L only).


Just for reference:
IF the TV's optical audio output cannot be set to PCM Stereo only, then a optical to RCA with Dolby Digital is required (see link below). But... it's still not capable of DD5.1. Although, Dolby Pro-Logic will get ya close.

http://www.amazon.com/Optical-Tosli.../dp/B01DZXWHJA
DrDon likes this.



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is online now  
post #5 of 17 Old 11-18-2018, 08:00 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,197
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1919 Post(s)
Liked: 3625
My bad. I should have added "ARC" and "Optical" before "ideas."

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #6 of 17 Old 11-18-2018, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 18,369
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1870 Post(s)
Liked: 1650
No "bad"... just keeping the windows clean for others to see clearly.
DrDon and Otto Pylot like this.



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is online now  
post #7 of 17 Old 11-18-2018, 11:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
alan0354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1019 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Thanks guys, a lot to learn. I am planning to build an integrated amp for my stepson, usually it's not a problem if you have Direct TV type that comes with Red White and Yellow RCA output. But he use antenna directly into tv for watching, now I have to find a way to run it to the amp. Using the RCA output is out of the question as it goes through the electronics of the tv ( nothing good about it). I don't even know whether the output is adjusted by the tv remote, that would be even worst. So I have to start learning other method to get good quality audio out of the tv.


I only started reading about HDMI yesterday, I know nothing about optical link. Any suggestion here for me to read?


Thanks

Own designed power amp, own designed preamp, JM LAB Spectral 913.1 speakers, Rythmik F12SE sub.
Not hooked up: Nakamichi Stasis PA-7 power amp, Velodyne VA1210 sub, Kef Reference Series center, Kef Bookshelf speaker, Monitor Audio bookshelf speaker, Infinity rear speakers. Acurus 3X200W amp.
alan0354 is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 11-18-2018, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 18,369
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1870 Post(s)
Liked: 1650
Quote:
Originally Posted by alan0354 View Post
Using the RCA output is out of the question as it goes through the electronics of the tv ( nothing good about it).
Total nonsense.


Quote:
I don't even know whether the output is adjusted by the tv remote, that would be even worst.
When using RCA or headphones out from the TV's, most have a setting for "fixed" or "variable".


Quote:
So I have to start learning other method to get good quality audio out of the tv
You're getting suggestions to help you learn. These suggestions will get you the best quality for OTA/antenna audio to a stereo receiver/amp.


Quote:
I only started reading about HDMI yesterday, I know nothing about optical link. Any suggestion here for me to read?
Read the suggestions above and stop being fixated on HDMI. HDMI or optical (S/PDIF) converted to analog doesn't change a thing and won't make a difference in "quality".




As asked in post #3 :
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
It would help to know the make and model of the television. .



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is online now  
post #9 of 17 Old 11-18-2018, 02:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 5,874
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 843 Post(s)
Liked: 412
Although DTV's have HDMI INPUTS, unfortunately I do not know of ANY that have HDMI OUTPUTS...only OPTICAL OUTPUT....and SOME might have a Stereo Headphone Jack that you can connect to Stereo Amp [PS: the latter would be controlled by BOTH DTV's and Amp's Volume Controls].

Otherwise you would need one of the fol. Optical-To-Analog Converter Boxes:
http://www.amazon.com/DA-Converters...ode=3224445011

Most do NOT provide a DD5.1 to Stereo "DownMixing" feature, so you would need to go into DTV Menu and Select PCM (Stereo) instead of DD5.1 (aka "Streaming" or some other similar term).....so you might want to make sure your DTV has this capability.

Fol. are an exception, CLAIMING to provide the requisite DD5.1 to Stereo "DownMixing" feature:
http://www.amazon.com/FiiO-Digital-.../dp/B005K2TXMO
http://www.amazon.com/Optical-Tosli.../dp/B01DZXWHJA
http://www.amazon.com/2CH-Compatibl.../dp/B00EI8MB0C

Last edited by holl_ands; 11-18-2018 at 03:03 PM.
holl_ands is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 11-18-2018, 04:48 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 18,369
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1870 Post(s)
Liked: 1650
Thanks for confirming everything that has previously stated and suggested, with a couple more links.



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is online now  
post #11 of 17 Old 11-18-2018, 06:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rabbit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 3,050
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 775 Post(s)
Liked: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by alan0354 View Post
Any suggestion here for me to read?

Thanks
I suggest you read the manual for the TV. If you tell us the make and model number of the TV, we can read the manual, if it is available on line. Then, maybe, we can make a useful suggestion about how you can get the audio from the TV to the integrated amp. If not, then he will just have to listen to the TV audio from the TV speakers.


It's not completely clear to me what your goal is. Does your stepson want to listen to the audio from his TV using the amp only where the TV is located, or will he listen to his TV using the TV speakers, and you will also listen to the sound from his TV at another location at the same time?

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
www.megalithia.com/elect/aerialsite/dttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 11-18-2018 at 08:18 PM.
rabbit73 is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 11-19-2018, 02:02 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
alan0354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1019 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Thanks guys


I don't know the tv model, it's a Toshiba 50" LED tv about 4 to 5 years old. I don't know it has ARC for HDMI. It's supposed to be a surprised, so it's not as if I can ask him to look.


So Toslink is the way to go. Is it true if the tv has the Toslink connector, I can count on it's output from tv?


It's is going to be stereo, definitely not surround sound, he doesn't even have a subwoofer. So it's simple 2.0.

Quote:
Originally Posted by holl_ands View Post
Otherwise you would need one of the fol. Optical-To-Analog Converter Boxes:
http://www.amazon.com/DA-Converters...ode=3224445011

Most do NOT provide a DD5.1 to Stereo "DownMixing" feature, so you would need to go into DTV Menu and Select PCM (Stereo) instead of DD5.1 (aka "Streaming" or some other similar term).....so you might want to make sure your DTV has this capability.

Fol. are an exception, CLAIMING to provide the requisite DD5.1 to Stereo "DownMixing" feature:
http://www.amazon.com/FiiO-Digital-.../dp/B005K2TXMO
http://www.amazon.com/Optical-Tosli.../dp/B01DZXWHJA
http://www.amazon.com/2CH-Compatibl.../dp/B00EI8MB0C

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratman View Post
Just for reference:
IF the TV's optical audio output cannot be set to PCM Stereo only, then a optical to RCA with Dolby Digital is required (see link below). But... it's still not capable of DD5.1. Although, Dolby Pro-Logic will get ya close.

http://www.amazon.com/Optical-Tosli.../dp/B01DZXWHJA

I don't follow about whether it's PCM, 5.1 or anything of that, I need time to read those. Does this means I won't know which converter to buy until I have the exact model of the tv and get the manual? Is there one particular converter that definitely will work to get me Stereo output only regardless of PCM or DD5.1 or whatever you call it?

Own designed power amp, own designed preamp, JM LAB Spectral 913.1 speakers, Rythmik F12SE sub.
Not hooked up: Nakamichi Stasis PA-7 power amp, Velodyne VA1210 sub, Kef Reference Series center, Kef Bookshelf speaker, Monitor Audio bookshelf speaker, Infinity rear speakers. Acurus 3X200W amp.
alan0354 is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 11-19-2018, 03:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
alan0354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1019 Post(s)
Liked: 279
I just want to learn about the connectors on be back of my Samsung 65" LED. As shown in the picture:


1) Am I right on the Toslink connector labeled?
2) What is the "AUDIO OUT"? Is that optical?
3) What is EX-LINK?
4) Looks like both HDMI are input, meaning it has no ARC.


I went through the manu with the remote, The audio is set to PCM, I do see the other option as Dolby Digital and DTS Neo 2:5. How do these affect the function. There is no other control of the audio that I can find.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Samsung back panel.JPG
Views:	14
Size:	111.8 KB
ID:	2484734  

Own designed power amp, own designed preamp, JM LAB Spectral 913.1 speakers, Rythmik F12SE sub.
Not hooked up: Nakamichi Stasis PA-7 power amp, Velodyne VA1210 sub, Kef Reference Series center, Kef Bookshelf speaker, Monitor Audio bookshelf speaker, Infinity rear speakers. Acurus 3X200W amp.
alan0354 is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 11-19-2018, 04:23 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 18,369
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1870 Post(s)
Liked: 1650
Quote:
Originally Posted by alan0354 View Post
I just want to learn about the connectors on be back of my Samsung 65" LED.
That should be detailed in the manual.


Anyway...


Toslink is optical


audio out may be a 'stereo' minijack (you be able to use a cable like this:
http://www.amazon.com/3-5mm-Mini-St.../dp/B0032JAG4G


Since TV can be set to PCM, use this:
http://www.walmart.com/ip/ESYNIC-To...ner=bizratecom


exlink is probably interface to control other Samsung devices


Forget about using HDMI!!



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein

Last edited by Ratman; 11-19-2018 at 04:34 AM.
Ratman is online now  
post #15 of 17 Old 11-19-2018, 08:24 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,197
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1919 Post(s)
Liked: 3625
Quote:
Originally Posted by alan0354 View Post
I just want to learn about the connectors on be back of my Samsung 65" LED
If you can come up with the model numbers of the sets involved, you can go to the the LCD Displays area where there's bound to be an Owner's Thread for your model(s). Ask any further questions about your set(s) there. Fellow owners will know more about your set(s) than broadcasters and signal specialists. Even without model numbers, fellow owners of the same brands will be able to give you better information about the functions and capabilities of the sets in question.

We have another section dedicated to amps and receivers should you need help with that.

As for connecting the TV to the amp, as @Ratman says, go with the Toslink optical assuming the amp in question has optical inputs. That should solve your issue. For other set questions, it'll be to your advantage to ask other owners.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.

Last edited by DrDon; 11-19-2018 at 08:58 AM.
DrDon is online now  
post #16 of 17 Old 11-19-2018, 10:09 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 18,369
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1870 Post(s)
Liked: 1650
This thread has now spawned into TWO TV's and their capabilities (or lack thereof).


We know nothing about either TV without model numbers. All that is know is one is a Toshiba and one is a Samsung.


All that "I" believe that is certain, is the destination equipment at each location for either set is "analog only" RCA inputs, no digital inputs S/PDIF or HDMI.


Therefore with the lack of info provided there are only two options:
1) Optical from TV with a DAC
2) Analog audio out from TV (if available). Use whatever adapter required if necessary


Let's close this thread. Questions have been addressed.



If you can’t explain it simply, you don’t understand it well enough – Albert Einstein
Ratman is online now  
post #17 of 17 Old 11-19-2018, 10:22 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 16,197
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1919 Post(s)
Liked: 3625
Done

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread HDTV Technical



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off