Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 05-10-2002, 06:54 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys - 90% of my TV watching is your standard, time warner cable .. I am trying to justify spending 5K+ on a projector, but if I'm not really going to be watching DVD's or 1080i signals, why can't I just do this:

1. buy ~$700.00 iScan pro unit
2. buy a nice bright 640x480 "computer" projector
3. feed my cable thru the iscan and into the projector ..

This should cose less than $2K for a kick butt cable viewing experience .. what do you think? am I totally off base here?

Usman
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 05-11-2002, 12:00 AM

Now, I'm still a newbie, but I think you could sub the $99 Viewsonic VB50 for the Iscan. That would save you even more money!
post #3 of 6 Old 05-11-2002, 05:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Liked: 11
You might be surprised at how poorly a std definition signal looks when blown up to the size of a big screen. Every image artifact will be even more visible when enlarged many times.

Before comitting any money go see for yourself and see if you want to live with the image. To me its not kick ass its just eye strain.

For myself I'd prefer a RPTV for the same budget.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 Old 05-11-2002, 08:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member

Quote:
Originally posted by Carl Brinkman
You might be surprised at how poorly a std definition signal looks when blown up to the size of a big screen. Every image artifact will be even more visible when enlarged many times.

Before comitting any money go see for yourself and see if you want to live with the image. To me its not kick ass its just eye strain.

For myself I'd prefer a RPTV for the same budget.
Buy yourself a 36" XBR and enjoy.

- JP in TOronto
post #5 of 6 Old 05-11-2002, 09:57 PM

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
I'm in total agreement with Carl and JPinTO - get a decent CRT or a RPTV and enjoy it.