Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 05-13-2002, 12:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Chele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have seen this question on other threads, but I never saw it answered so I will try again. I have a DTC100 and am using it with LT150. The problem is that the Lt150 thinks that the dtc is a 16:9 source. You can't use the 4:3 mode and have it look correctly. I believe the problem is that when using the dtc it automatically puts it in cinema squeeze mode which you can't defeat in rgb mode. But I have input VGA sources from computers and it displays correctly as a 4:3 image. Is there a way to make the DTC look like a 4:3 device preferrably by making a special cable? I know they make a breakout device that will convert the dtc's rgb output to component. Then I could use another component to rgb cable on the lt150. This would give me manual control over cinema mode. Would this work? Has anyone tried it. This seems like an awful lot of trouble if just one special cable could be rigged that would go from the dtc rgb output to the lt150 rgb input that would do the trick. I hope someone can answer this.
Chele is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 05-13-2002, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
HNick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dude,
Buy a transcoder (like a $100 - will convert RGB to component). Then you'll have aspect control on both the DTC-100 and LT150. That's what I use. Do a search on DTC100 and transcoder and you'll find all you need to know. HNick
HNick is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 05-13-2002, 11:17 AM
Senior Member
 
HNick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh, I forgot. Do the search in the AVS HDTV Hardware forum also. HNick
HNick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 05-13-2002, 11:48 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Mr.Poindexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Clovis, California
Posts: 7,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 39
The device that breaks out the VGA into component is a transcoder.
The device that turns your component into RGB is a... transcoder.

How is running an RGB signal into component and back again going to suddenly give some power over control when the signal being fed into the LT150 is still an RBG signal sent over a VGA connection?
Mr.Poindexter is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 05-13-2002, 03:54 PM
Senior Member
 
HNick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is no "back again".

When you do this, you set a menu item on the LT150 to "component input". Then, as I understand it, the pj synchs on G (instead of H & V with RGB). I assumed Chele would use the breakout cable (comp to mini 15) that came with the pj (at least it did with my 150z). Works fine - you can use 4:3 & 16:9. Hope that clears it up. HNick
HNick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off