Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 98 Old 01-04-2019, 09:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,526
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1596 Post(s)
Liked: 461
Isn’t this the PJ that is a virtual clone of the UHD50?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JRock3x8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 98 Old 01-04-2019, 11:17 AM
Member
 
russellhk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Isn’t this the PJ that is a virtual clone of the UHD50?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I thought that was the UHD300X? Although the 300X has no built in 3d support.

I was under the impression the M550 uses the 2xshift .66 DLP chip. God knows why Optoma make things so confusing....
russellhk is offline  
post #93 of 98 Old 02-13-2019, 10:26 AM
Member
 
afzal_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by russellhk View Post
I thought that was the UHD300X? Although the 300X has no built in 3d support.

I was under the impression the M550 uses the 2xshift .66 DLP chip. God knows why Optoma make things so confusing....
The 2 mentioned Optoma's use the old 0.47" chip with the horrible gray border issue.

The Acer uses the far superior 0.67" chip. It is closer to the Optoma UHD60, therefore.
afzal_b is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #94 of 98 Old 02-13-2019, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,526
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1596 Post(s)
Liked: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by afzal_b View Post
The 2 mentioned Optoma's use the old 0.47" chip with the horrible gray border issue.



The Acer uses the far superior 0.67" chip. It is closer to the Optoma UHD60, therefore.


The far superior thing.

Ehhhh.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #95 of 98 Old 02-13-2019, 10:20 PM
Member
 
afzal_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by russellhk View Post
I thought that was the UHD300X? Although the 300X has no built in 3d support.

I was under the impression the M550 uses the 2xshift .66 DLP chip. God knows why Optoma make things so confusing....
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
The far superior thing.

Ehhhh.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Just compare anything with the 4x XPR 0.47 DLP470TE with its visible border (Light Frame) to anything with the 2x XPR 0.67 and you'll see what I mean. Take a look at this image:


Left to right, DLP470TP, DLP470TE, DLP660TE. The 0.47 chips are native 1920x1080, the 0.66 is 2716x1528 (twice as many pixels). As a consequence, the 0.47 chips need 4x XPR to achieve UHD, while the 0.66 needs 2x XPR to achieve the same thing. According to TI, the 0.47 chips are designed for projectors up to 1,500 lumens for the 470TP, 4,000 for the 470TE, while the 660TE can handle up to 5,000 lumens.

They go on to say "The DLP660TE is the most powerful of the three 4K UHD chipsets."

In terms of target market, the chips correspond to low, low-middle, and middle market for TI. None of them can compare to native 4K chips (there aren't any so far in DLP) such as Sony's 4096 x 2160 LCoS, certainly, but I stand by my assertion that the 0.66 is superior to the 0.47.

The only place I would say the 0.47 chips have an advantage is in 1080p 3D. But if 1080p and 3D is your bag then none of the TI chip based machines can top current native 1080p machines in the same price range.
afzal_b is offline  
post #96 of 98 Old 02-14-2019, 03:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,526
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1596 Post(s)
Liked: 461
Dude whatever, I have 8 million pixels and the UHD60 doesn't/
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #97 of 98 Old 02-14-2019, 03:54 AM
Member
 
russellhk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by afzal_b View Post
The 2 mentioned Optoma's use the old 0.47" chip with the horrible gray border issue.

The Acer uses the far superior 0.67" chip. It is closer to the Optoma UHD60, therefore.
That's exactly what I said. That the UHD40/50/300X all use the .47 and this acer uses the .66.

I bought a TK800 anyway, but never notice the light border as I'm not using it in a dedicated dark room.
russellhk is offline  
post #98 of 98 Old 02-14-2019, 06:31 AM
Member
 
afzal_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Dude whatever, I have 8 million pixels and the UHD60 doesn't/
You've got 8 million pixels in what?
afzal_b is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off