Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 47 Old 12-05-2018, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
GrandPixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Official Epson Home Cinema 4010 / Pro Cinema 4050 Owner’s Thread

Post all of your HC4010 / 4050 related stuff here!

Since I’m the first one posting an owner’s thread, in time I will modify first post to contain information about the projector, and maybe some Q&A links to common questions as they come up.

My HC4010 is sitting in a box in another state (no sales tax). Hopefully I will be able to pick it up over the Christmas holiday and set everything up in January.
RK73 and benrub like this.
GrandPixel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 47 Old 12-05-2018, 08:47 PM
Member
 
BIC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Considering the 4050. Tried to use Epson projector distance calculator. 4050 not included yet. Went the PowerLite Pro Cinema 4040 calculator. Seems it's the same based upon a few sample distances in the 4050 manual.

Anyway, planning on a 149"d 16:9 screen. 130"w x 73"h. Calculator shows a throw distance of 14' 8.6" - 30' 10.4". I'm new to projectors. I presume it's best to put the projector at the closest of that range, say 15'. Viewing distance to first row about 11'-12' Would the picture be great in that location?

If I decide on another PJ, would the 15' throw pre-wire be good for whichever PJ I wind up with? Thanks.

Last edited by BIC2; 12-05-2018 at 08:51 PM.
BIC2 is offline  
post #3 of 47 Old 12-06-2018, 09:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ScottieBoysName's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,307
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 825 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrandPixel View Post
Post all of your HC4010 / 4050 related stuff here!

Since I’m the first one posting an owner’s thread, in time I will modify first post to contain information about the projector, and maybe some Q&A links to common questions as they come up.

My HC4010 is sitting in a box in another state (no sales tax). Hopefully I will be able to pick it up over the Christmas holiday and set everything up in January.
What's the minimum/brightest throw for this projector for a screen that's 123 inches diagonal?
ScottieBoysName is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 47 Old 12-06-2018, 03:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Magnus_CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is this unit shipping yet? I'm surprised there's not more activity.
Magnus_CA is online now  
post #5 of 47 Old 12-06-2018, 03:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIC2 View Post
Considering the 4050. Tried to use Epson projector distance calculator. 4050 not included yet. Went the PowerLite Pro Cinema 4040 calculator. Seems it's the same based upon a few sample distances in the 4050 manual.

Anyway, planning on a 149"d 16:9 screen. 130"w x 73"h. Calculator shows a throw distance of 14' 8.6" - 30' 10.4". I'm new to projectors. I presume it's best to put the projector at the closest of that range, say 15'. Viewing distance to first row about 11'-12' Would the picture be great in that location?

If I decide on another PJ, would the 15' throw pre-wire be good for whichever PJ I wind up with? Thanks.
It's about 14'8" for that projector use Epson 4010 in calculator on projector central . So when install front of lens has be at least that far so 15 feet would work although it's hard to say if ever upgraded whether it be far enough back for another projector especially if new projector twere a few inches larger . May want do like 15'8 " or so just be safe for future Yes its best to put closest so it doesn't have to zoom alot and lose brightness although a foot won't make much difference if want to do little extra. Hard say about seating distance and that size everyone is different so best thing do is Mark off area on wall and get idea how big be or project image on wall/screen and then Pick your seating distance are you doing 1 row or 2?
golden78 is offline  
post #6 of 47 Old 12-06-2018, 07:01 PM
Member
 
BIC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Two rows. Thanks.
BIC2 is offline  
post #7 of 47 Old 12-07-2018, 09:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 101
golden78 is offline  
post #8 of 47 Old 12-07-2018, 01:05 PM
Member
 
benrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I'm planning on buying this projector very soon. I have my screen (100" Elite Saker Tab-Tensioned) in a box on my living room floor, waiting to be mounted on the ceiling tomorrow.

As soon as I see that the screen is up and working well, I planned on going out and buying the 4010. For a few weeks it's been $1799 at Best Buy and Amazon. Now it's $1999! I'm really annoyed that the price has gone back up.

Ben R.
benrub is offline  
post #9 of 47 Old 12-07-2018, 01:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 101
It probably will go back down again
golden78 is offline  
post #10 of 47 Old 12-07-2018, 04:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
serith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: syracuse, ny
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 662 Post(s)
Liked: 659
Quote:
Originally Posted by benrub View Post
I'm planning on buying this projector very soon. I have my screen (100" Elite Saker Tab-Tensioned) in a box on my living room floor, waiting to be mounted on the ceiling tomorrow.

As soon as I see that the screen is up and working well, I planned on going out and buying the 4010. For a few weeks it's been $1799 at Best Buy and Amazon. Now it's $1999! I'm really annoyed that the price has gone back up.
it's normal. just wait a few weeks and it'll be on sale again.


7.3.6 / 1700 ft³ / PSA MTM-210T³ / Epson HC 2150 / 147" AT 2.39:1 Spandex Screen / Seatcraft Rialto³ / Velvet Everywhere / Chasing LFE
serith is offline  
post #11 of 47 Old 12-08-2018, 02:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I'm in Canada. I was contemplating the JVC DLA-X590RB, but this seems to check all boxes but only has 10gbps bandwith....For the savings, would you do it?

Build Thread:http://01900888.com/forum/19-de...m-wet-bar.html
Theatre Room: Samsung UN55KU7000F | Pioneer SP-FS52 x 2 | Polk MC80 x 2
Incoming: JVC DLA-X590RB | 120" Elunevision 4K Reference Tab 2.35:1 | Philharmonic Audio Affordable Accuracy Center Channel
phanttom is offline  
post #12 of 47 Old 12-08-2018, 05:16 PM
Member
 
sloebric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well this really sucks. Wicked fan noise just started today. Have had the unit less than 30 days and barely used it. Any suggestions?
sloebric is offline  
post #13 of 47 Old 12-08-2018, 05:26 PM
Senior Member
 
ken984's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bossier City, LA
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by sloebric View Post
Well this really sucks. Wicked fan noise just started today. Have had the unit less than 30 days and barely used it. Any suggestions?
Call Epson. The support from them is top notch, when I had a problem they cross shipped me a new unit, without any hassle at all.
ken984 is offline  
post #14 of 47 Old 12-08-2018, 05:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by phanttom View Post
I'm in Canada. I was contemplating the JVC DLA-X590RB, but this seems to check all boxes but only has 10gbps bandwith....For the savings, would you do it?
That depends how much you would save and also your setup.What is your room like do you have any ambient light are your walls light colored what do you watch 4k hdr netflix cable etc.
golden78 is offline  
post #15 of 47 Old 12-08-2018, 06:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by golden78 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by phanttom View Post
I'm in Canada. I was contemplating the JVC DLA-X590RB, but this seems to check all boxes but only has 10gbps bandwith....For the savings, would you do it?
That depends how much you would save and also your setup.What is your room like do you have any ambient light are your walls light colored what do you watch 4k hdr netflix cable etc.
Room is dark grey walls and ceiling. Full light control.

Will soon start 4K with Netflix. Then movies. We do not have cable tv not watch sports.

Build Thread:http://01900888.com/forum/19-de...m-wet-bar.html
Theatre Room: Samsung UN55KU7000F | Pioneer SP-FS52 x 2 | Polk MC80 x 2
Incoming: JVC DLA-X590RB | 120" Elunevision 4K Reference Tab 2.35:1 | Philharmonic Audio Affordable Accuracy Center Channel
phanttom is offline  
post #16 of 47 Old 12-08-2018, 06:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
golden78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: syracuse
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 101
I'n a dedicated light controlled dark room I'd go with the jvc . I have one and love it i tried the 4010 but wasn't happy with black levels or that couldn't do 4k hdr 60 with 10gbs hdmi. But that's my opinion
golden78 is offline  
post #17 of 47 Old 12-10-2018, 02:21 PM
Member
 
sloebric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Red face

Quote:
Originally Posted by ken984 View Post
Call Epson. The support from them is top notch, when I had a problem they cross shipped me a new unit, without any hassle at all.
Good suggestion...called Epson and they're providing advance replacement unit overnight. Very impressed with their support. Didn't run me through very many unnecessary troubleshooting questions and hold time was minimal.

That hasn't been my experience with tech support from other places and was really dreading the call.
sloebric is offline  
post #18 of 47 Old 12-15-2018, 12:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm pretty sure you can, via the manual, but I just wanted to double check. Are you able to game at 4k 60fps in SDR? I know you can't in HDR.

I currently have a new UHD60, but apparently I am RBE sensitive and when I enable HDR the input lag doubles, making it pretty unbearable. Lastly, how's the fan noise? Any high-pitched ringing tones or anything?
wheflin is offline  
post #19 of 47 Old 12-15-2018, 05:04 PM
Member
 
MisterClean84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lake Jackson, Tx
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by wheflin View Post
I'm pretty sure you can, via the manual, but I just wanted to double check. Are you able to game at 4k 60fps in SDR? I know you can't in HDR.

I currently have a new UHD60, but apparently I am RBE sensitive and when I enable HDR the input lag doubles, making it pretty unbearable. Lastly, how's the fan noise? Any high-pitched ringing tones or anything?
When i first hooked it up, there was an almost unbearable high pitched whine. It went away within an hour or so. Fan noise is noticeable, I sit directly underneath it and it is slightly distracting during quiet/silent scenes. Any other time and you would have to be listening for it to be an issue.



On an unrelated note: I have ordered screen material samples form Silver Ticket, and I am about to have a dilemma. Projector is in the living room. It is 14' away from the wall, so I am throw limited (Which wasn't a problem on the old shallow depth hd33, but the 4010 is an absolute unit of a PJ).

I currently use a 120" diagonal 16:9 screen, so it is 59" tall, and 105" wide. I sit about 12-14 foot away. I am height limited, but not width limited. So I could buy a nicer 120" screen with better material, OR I could go 2.35:1, with a 127.77" diagonal screen. (50" high, 118" wide). If I go wide screen, I give up 18" of viewable space when watching 16:9 content. However, most things we watch are movies. If we are watching regular TV we usually watch that in the bedroom. Occasionally we will watch sports, but not often enough for it to matter. One pro to moving to wide screen is it would allow me to have a larger center speaker. Current center sits about an inch below the screen on our media unit. I want to build a set of 1299s or HTM12s in the future and can't fit that below a 120" screen.

What do you think? Anyone move from a large 16:9 to a marginally smaller 2.35 screen?
MisterClean84 is offline  
post #20 of 47 Old 12-16-2018, 08:12 AM
Member
 
theqmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Question lens/memory features

I've got the 4010 and installed it few days back.

It's installed with a Peerless, small profile, mount at 3" of the ceiling, projecting from 19".
I have a 2.35:1 screen so I toggle between wide format and regular 16:9

I liked it so far.

What I noticed, and maybe there is a solution to this, is that I need to change the keystone manually every time I change the lens of the to screen sizes.

They keystone is not preserved on lens nor memory saving.

Is there a way to manage that ? To me keystone should be part of the lens memory.

I created to sets of settings two for memory and two for lens. I assumed the memory would save the keystone but it doesn't.

Any ideas ?
theqmaster is offline  
post #21 of 47 Old 12-16-2018, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Darth Indy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 12
for the 4010, what is the closest I could have it to still throw a 135" pic?
Darth Indy is offline  
post #22 of 47 Old 12-16-2018, 01:14 PM
Member
 
MisterClean84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lake Jackson, Tx
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth Indy View Post
for the 4010, what is the closest I could have it to still throw a 135" pic?
http://www.projectorcentral.com/Eps...ulator-pro.htm

The ABSOLUTE closest would be 13' 3" from the lens to the screen, it would be a good idea to account for some wiggle room.
GrandPixel likes this.
MisterClean84 is offline  
post #23 of 47 Old 12-17-2018, 07:57 AM
Member
 
benrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Gents,

I picked up the Epson 4010 from Best Buy yesterday and had a couple of hours to test it out. So far I’m really pleased with the picture quality, and still in a bit of shock by how HUGE the projector is. I knew the dimensions beforehand, but seeing its mass sitting in my apartment was still a shock. I wish they could somehow make these projectors smaller.

This is my first projector since I bought the Sony VPL-HS20 around 2004 or so. I loved that projector, and it was a lot smaller!

I moved in 2010 and haven’t had a projector setup since then— this has been a dream of mine for a long time. I love watching movies on a huge screen.

The powered lens-shift made it very easy to set up. I’m using an 100” Elite Screen. The first content I tried was Eyes Wide Shut Blu-ray Disc. It looked mediocre. I’m not sure why. I didn’t touch any settings. The blacks looks washed out. Then about an hour later, in a darker room, my wife and I fired up “The Marvelous Mrs. Masiel” using the Amazon app on my 4K AppleTV. It looked STUNNING. I was blown away by how fantastic the picture quality looked.


The fan noise is a non-issue. I have the unit temporarily sitting on a dresser directly behind my head. The fan is a very soft hush, nothing more. I didn’t even notice it.

I can’t wait to get home later and watch some more stuff.

Question: What projector mount do you recommend? I want to put this beast on the ceiling asap. There are many to choose from on Amazon and although they're rated for the weight, they look small compared to this projector. I want to be sure it's very stable.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0864.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	66.6 KB
ID:	2497878  

Ben R.
benrub is offline  
post #24 of 47 Old 12-17-2018, 11:26 AM
Member
 
theqmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by benrub View Post
...

Question: What projector mount do you recommend? I want to put this beast on the ceiling asap. There are many to choose from on Amazon and although they're rated for the weight, they look small compared to this projector. I want to be sure it's very stable.
I got a Peerless Industries Peerless-AV PRGS-UNV-W, it's rated up to 50lbs and lets you adjust the pitch and roll.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
benrub likes this.
theqmaster is offline  
post #25 of 47 Old 12-17-2018, 12:23 PM
Member
 
theqmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Anyone wants to take a stab at my question about Memory/Lens Memory ?
theqmaster is offline  
post #26 of 47 Old 12-17-2018, 03:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by theqmaster View Post
Anyone wants to take a stab at my question about Memory/Lens Memory ?
I don't have an answer to the specific quest, but a question in return.

Why are you finding keystone necessary with this projector with the lens shift that is available? Are you unable to install it level?
trulsrohk is offline  
post #27 of 47 Old 12-17-2018, 03:52 PM
Member
 
theqmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by trulsrohk View Post
I don't have an answer to the specific quest, but a question in return.

Why are you finding keystone necessary with this projector with the lens shift that is available? Are you unable to install it level?
So you think is not installed leveled ?

I got it installed on the ceiling at @19' from the screen. Looks level in both ratios but when I change the from one to another I'd have to readjust the keystone.

for 16:9 the keystone is -12
for 2.35:1 the keystone is -23

I just installed it few days back ...
theqmaster is offline  
post #28 of 47 Old 12-17-2018, 04:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Should not require any keystone whatsoever if level and completely parallel to the wall it's projecting onto as far as I know
benrub likes this.
trulsrohk is offline  
post #29 of 47 Old 12-17-2018, 05:02 PM
Senior Member
 
DavidinGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: GA
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by benrub View Post
Gents,

.

Question: What projector mount do you recommend? I want to put this beast on the ceiling asap. There are many to choose from on Amazon and although they're rated for the weight, they look small compared to this projector. I want to be sure it's very stable.
I got this low profile mount that works great. Only $30 and no reason to pay more with a super easy to adjust pj the Epson's.


http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000T5KMAY...b1ZM1CSQ<br />

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
benrub likes this.

--------------------------------------------------
Epson 4000, 150" 16:9, Audio stuff...
DavidinGA is offline  
post #30 of 47 Old 12-18-2018, 12:03 PM
Member
 
theqmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by trulsrohk View Post
Should not require any keystone whatsoever if level and completely parallel to the wall it's projecting onto as far as I know
I see... I am almost certain the frame is paralel with the top for the projected image. I recheck it when having a bit offtime.
theqmaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Digital Projectors - Under $3,000 USD MSRP



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off